Gen Nagai, Phil. Navy rule The Challenge

posted on: Friday, November 1, 2013


Gen Nagai successfully defended his overall title in the 9th Alta Vista Junior Golf Challenge, which ended Thursday at the club’s course carved in the hills of Pardo, Cebu City.

The 16-year-old Nagai ran away with the overall title scoring a total of 146 strokes on the final two days of the tournament 71 and 75.

Manila-based Philippine Navy-The Junior Golf League was named club of the year after earning the most number of points based on the standings of their players in the various age categories.

Nagai also pocketed the boys’ class A (15-17 years old) title with a three-day total of 219 strokes on rounds of 73, 71, and 75.

Gen Nagai (4th from left) and Pamela Mariano (center) received their championship plaques on the green of the 18th hole on the last day of The Challenge at Alta Vista Golf and Country Club. With them are club officials (from left) Rodien Paca, Vic Gocela, Joseph Gandionco, Ramon Sebastian, Peter Aznar, Philip Hernandez, and Enrico Solon.

First runner-up honors went to Jonas Magcalayo of TJGL with 246 strokes on rounds of 77, 76, and 76 while second runner-up was Wei-wei Gao of Alta Vista with 230 (74-79-77).

For the girls’ division, Pamela Mariano of Del Monte bagged the title with an aggregate of 242 strokes on rounds of 84, 83, and 75. Runner-up honors went to Ericka Lim of Alta Vista with 244 (84-84-76).

Jets Sajulga of Del Monte took home the boys’ class B (13-14 years old) crown with a total score of 231 strokes (75-71-85). First runner-up was Russell Bautista of Mactan with 249 (87-82-8)) followed by Tyler Po of Cebu Country Club with 256 (85-88-83).

The girls’ title went to Lois Kaye ‘LK’ Go of Cebu Country Club with 232 strokes (75-72-85). Runner-up honors for the distaff side went to Rainstar Roque of Del Monte with 234 (80-80-74).

Wei-yu Gao of Alta Vista ruled the boys’ class C (11-12 years old) with 154 strokes on rounds of 75 and 79. First runner-up was Jolo Magcalayo of TJGL with 155 (78-77) while second runner-up was Josh Jorge of TJGL with 162 (86-76).

The girls’ title went to Alta Vista’s Junia Gabasa with 160 strokes (78-82) while runner-up honors went to Jona Magcalayo of TJGL with 165 (90-75).

Players and parents from the Philippine Navy-The Junior Golf League team celebrate their victory after the awards ceremony.

TJGL’s Sean Granada ruled class D (9-10 years old) for boys with a total of 167 strokes (83-84). First runner-up was Rolando Bregente of Del Monte with 173 (83-90) and second runner-up was Joaquin Velez of Cebu Country Club with 178 (93-85).

Wei-fang Gao of Alta Vista topped the distaff side with 158 strokes (82-76) while runner-up honors went to Samantha Marie Dizon of TJGL with 169 (87-82).

Zeus Sara of Apo Golf topped class E (6-8 years old) for boys with a total of 95 strokes on nines of 48 and 47. First runner-up was Raymond Tampus of Mactan with 96 (44-52) and second runner-up was Ren Moromasa of Cebu Country Club with 112 (58-54).

The girls’ title went to Theresa de la Paz of TJGL with 124 (56-68) while runner-up honors went to Szujara Sumalpong with 129 (61-68).

The special division title for boys went to John Catalan of TJGL with 238 (84-80-74). First runner-up was Ronel Sarigumba of Mactan with 246 (81-87-78) while Alta Vista’s Sir Cross Abarintos settled for the second runner-up honors with 249 (84-87-78).

PN-TJGL’s team 1 composed of Jonas Magcalayo, Ira Alido, Josh Jorge, and Jolo Magcalayo bagged the team title after beating team 1 of Cebu Country Club in the countback.

CCC team 1 finished as first runner-up. It was composed of Gen Nagai, LK Go, Alyeska Yunam, and Pio Neri.

Second runner-up for the team event was Alta Vista team 1 composed of Junia Gabasa, Wei-wei Gao, Ericka Lim, and Anton Pastoriza. /